fbpx

COVID-19

Important notice from the Montreal SPCA

Updated on March 24, 2020

In order to serve both short and long term public health interests, the Montreal SPCA supports the measures proposed by the US National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) to limit and prioritize the services shelters offer during the COVID-19 pandemic. These measures are all supported by the Association vétérinaire québécoise de médecine de refuge (AVQMR) and the Ontario Shelter Medicine Association (OSMA).

They are in the best interest of public health, by limiting the use of personal protection equipment and medical supplies that are needed by human health care workers and front-line workers during this pandemic. Furthermore, these measures will also allow shelters to continue to provide care to animals in need, in the event that available staff and resources are reduced.

The recommendations include:

  • Temporarily discontinuing all elective or non-essential surgeries, including pre-adoption spay and neutering, and trap-neuter-return (TNR) efforts
  • Limiting intake only to animals that are sick, injured, in imminent danger or have bitten humans

The Government of Québec has confirmed that animal shelters are among the essential services. We can therefore continue to offer certain services while others have been temporarily modified or suspended for the well-being of all.

Please consult the following information before coming to the Montreal SPCA, as many of our services are being temporarily modified or suspended. Thank you for your valuable cooperation and understanding.

Temporarily modified services

Adoption: BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
Foster families – DELAYED RESPONSE
Mittens Sterilization Clinic, microchipping and health guarantee: SUSPENSION OF ALL APPOINTMENTS
The Montreal SPCA boutique – CLOSED
Abandoned / Found animals – BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
TNRM Program – SUSPENDED
Donations – The best way to help the Montreal SPCA right now
Important instructions for visitors
Coronavirus: No evidence suggest that companion animals can carry the virus

For information on COVID-19, contact 1-877-644-4545.

Thank you for your valuable cooperation and understanding.

fbpx

COVID-19

Avis important de la SPCA de Montréal

Mise à jour le 24 mars 2020

Dans l’intérêt de la santé publique à court et à long terme, la SPCA de Montréal applique les mesures proposées par la National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) américaine pour limiter les services offerts par les refuges durant la pandémie de COVID-19. Ces dispositions sont notamment appuyées par l’Association vétérinaire québécoise de médecine de refuge (AVQMR) et la Ontario Shelter Medicine Association (OSMA).

Elles sont notamment prescrites afin de limiter l’utilisation du matériel de biosécurité, qui pourrait être réquisitionné pour les travailleurs et travailleuses de la santé ainsi que pour les personnes qui œuvrent en première ligne en temps de pandémie. De plus, ces mesures nous permettent de continuer à fournir les soins d’urgence aux animaux dans le besoin, même si nos effectifs sont réduits.

Ces mesures incluent :

  • La suspension temporaire de toute chirurgie élective ou non essentielle, incluant la stérilisation préadoption et le programme de CSRM (capture-stérilisation-retour-maintien).
  • Admettre au refuge les cas urgents seulement. Cela signifie les animaux blessés, malades, dont la vie est en danger ou qui ont mordu des humains.

Le gouvernement du Québec a confirmé que les refuges pour animaux faisaient partie des services prioritaires. Nous pouvons donc continuer à offrir certains services, alors que d’autres se voient temporairement modifiés pour le bien-être de tous et de toutes.

Nous vous prions de consulter les avis suivants avant de vous présenter à la SPCA de Montréal, puisque plusieurs de nos services se voient temporairement modifiés. Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension et de votre précieuse collaboration.

Les services temporairement modifiés

Adoption : SUR RENDEZ-VOUS SEULEMENT
Familles d’accueil : DÉLAI DE RÉPONSE
Clinique de stérilisation ciblée permanente Mittens, service de micropuçage et garantie de santé : SUSPENSION DES RENDEZ-VOUS
Boutique de la SPCA de Montréal : FERMÉE
Abandons/animaux trouvés : SUR RENDEZ-VOUS SEULEMENT
Programme CSRM : SUSPENDU
Dons : La meilleure façon d’aider la SPCA de Montréal en ce moment
Consignes importantes à l’intention des visiteurs
Coronavirus : rien ne suggère que les animaux domestiques puissent être porteurs du virus

Pour tout renseignement en lien avec la COVID-19, communiquez avec le 1 877 644-4545.

Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension et de votre précieuse collaboration.