The suffering inflicted on farm animals goes far beyond violating animal rights – it violates basic human decency. And it’s completely legal.

In 2015, the Civil Code of Quebec was amended to recognize animals as sentient beings. This new legal framework was supposed to protect all animals from the worst abuses.

Yet the vast majority of animals, those raised for human consumption, are excluded from the key protections granted by the law.

This is why many cruel practices – such as castrating calves and lambs without any anesthesia or analgesia – are routinely performed on farms. These same practices would be totally illegal if performed on dogs or cats.

Let’s come together and demand that the government of Quebec regulate the treatment of farm animals to put an end to this abuse.

_

If your mailbox does not open automatically after you click on the button below, please download our letter.

Practices that are banned elsewhere, but widespread in Quebec

Several practices that seriously compromise the welfare of animals raised for food, and that have been banned elsewhere in the world, are still widespread in Quebec.

Confinement of animals in very small spaces,

which deprives them of the ability to move around comfortably, to engage in their natural behaviours and to interact in a normal way with others of their species. This is the case for laying hens raised in cages, sows confined in gestation and farrowing crates and dairy cows who are permanently tethered.

Systematic mutilation without any analgesia or anesthesia.

For example, castrating calves and lambs; amputating lambs’ tails; partially removing the beak of laying hens and cutting off piglets’ teeth.

IT’S TIME TO PROTECT FARM ANIMALS!

Though the agricultural industry occasionally announces improvements in the living conditions of farm animals, these are proposed as gradual shifts over long periods of time and remain strictly voluntary.

_

If your mailbox does not open automatically after you click on the button below, please download our letter.

cochon

outil

The promise of 2015’s legislative changes

On December 4th, 2015, Quebec’s National Assembly unanimously passed Bill 54, An Act to improve the legal situation of animals. This bill created a new provincial law dedicated exclusively to animal welfare and amended the Civil Code of Quebec to explicitly recognize animals as sentient beings. These legislative changes were supposed to herald the beginning of a new era in terms of our relationship with animals. Yet nothing has changed for farm animals; they continue to be treated as mere commodities.

No legislation regulates the treatment of farm animals

Farm animals receive virtually no legal protection. While there exist federal and provincial laws governing their transport and slaughter, nothing regulates how these animals are treated throughout their lives on the farm.

In fact, the Animal Welfare and Safety Act excludes agricultural activities from its scope provided these are conducted “in accordance with generally recognized rules”. However no such rules are defined in the Act. Thus, so long as a significant portion of the industry adopts a certain practice, it is automatically considered consistent with the “generally recognized rules”. It is therefore the industry itself that determines which practices are legal ou illegal, regardless of the degree of suffering they inflict on animals.

National codes of practice

In the agri-food sector, most animal-use industries are involved in the development and periodic revision of codes of practice dealing with the care and handling of livestock. These codes of practice constitute nationally developed guidelines and set out recommended methods of animal rearing. These codes, however, have no legal force in and of themselves.

The provinces of Newfoundland and Labrador and Prince Edward Island have made adherence to the codes of practice mandatory. In 2015, when Bill 54, An Act to improve the legal situation of animals, was introduced, the ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec at the time, Pierre Paradis, had committed to, at the very least, making the codes of practice governing the raising of animals for food mandatory. However, to this day, compliance with these codes remains strictly voluntary in Quebec.

La souffrance infligée aux animaux de ferme est cruelle, inhumaine et intolérable. Pourtant, elle est complètement légale.

En 2015, le Code civil du Québec a été modifié afin que les animaux soient reconnus comme des êtres sensibles. Ce nouveau cadre juridique était censé protéger tous les animaux des pires abus.

Pourtant, la vaste majorité des animaux, à savoir ceux destinés à la consommation, sont exclus des principales protections qu’offre la loi.

C’est la raison pour laquelle plusieurs pratiques cruelles – comme la castration à froid des veaux et des agneaux, sans aucune anesthésie ni analgésie – ont cours de façon routinière sur les fermes. Ces mêmes pratiques seraient parfaitement illégales si des chiens ou des chats y étaient soumis.

Ensemble, exigeons que le gouvernement du Québec encadre le traitement réservé aux animaux de ferme afin de mettre fin à cette maltraitance.

_

Si votre boîte de courriels ne s’ouvre pas automatiquement après que vous ayez cliqué sur le bouton ci-dessous, veuillez télécharger notre lettre.

Des pratiques interdites ailleurs, mais largement répandues au Québec

Plusieurs pratiques qui compromettent gravement le bien-être des animaux élevés pour la consommation, et qui ont été interdites ailleurs dans le monde, sont encore très répandues au Québec.

Le confinement des animaux dans des espaces très étroits,

les privant ainsi de la possibilité de se mouvoir confortablement, d’exprimer leurs comportements naturels et d’interagir de manière normale avec leurs semblables. Cela est le cas pour les poules pondeuses élevées en cage, les truies confinées dans des stalles de gestation et de mise bas et les vaches laitières en stabulation entravée.

La mutilation systématique sans analgésie ni anesthésie.

Par exemple, la castration des veaux et des agneaux; la coupe de la queue des agneaux; l’amputation partielle du bec des poules pondeuses; la coupe des dents des porcelets.

IL EST TEMPS DE PROTÉGER LES ANIMAUX DE FERME!

L’industrie agricole annonce parfois des améliorations aux conditions de vie des animaux d’élevage, mais celles-ci s’échelonnent sur de longues périodes et demeurent strictement volontaires.

_

Si votre boîte de courriels ne s’ouvre pas automatiquement après que vous ayez cliqué sur le bouton ci-dessous, veuillez télécharger notre lettre.

Cochon

outil

La promesse des changements législatifs de 2015

Le 4 décembre 2015, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec a adopté à l’unanimité le projet de loi 54, Loi visant l’amélioration de la situation juridique de l’animal. Ce projet de loi a engendré une nouvelle loi provinciale exclusivement vouée à la protection animale et a également modifié le Code civil du Québec afin que le statut d’êtres sensibles soit reconnu explicitement aux animaux. Ces changements législatifs étaient censés marquer le coup d’envoi d’un changement de fond dans notre rapport aux animaux. Pourtant, rien n’a changé pour les animaux de ferme, qui continuent à être traités comme de simples marchandises.

Aucune loi n’encadre le traitement des animaux de ferme

Les animaux de ferme ne bénéficient de pratiquement aucune protection juridique. Alors que leur transport et leur abattage sont gouvernés par certaines lois fédérales et provinciales, aucune loi n’encadre le traitement qui leur est réservé pendant leur vie à la ferme.

En effet, la Loi sur le bien-être et la sécurité de l’animal écarte de son champ d’application les activités agricoles pourvu que celles-ci soient pratiquées « selon les règles généralement reconnues ». Or, ces règles ne sont pas définies dans la Loi. Du moment qu’une part importante de l’industrie adopte une certaine pratique, celle-ci est automatiquement considérée comme étant conforme aux « règles généralement reconnues ». C’est donc l’industrie elle-même qui a le pouvoir de déterminer quelles pratiques sont légales ou illégales, et ce, peu importe le degré de souffrance que ces façons de faire infligent aux animaux.

Les codes de pratiques nationaux

Dans le secteur agroalimentaire, la plupart des industries utilisant des animaux participent à un processus de développement et de révision de codes de pratiques concernant les soins et la manipulation des animaux d’élevage. Ces codes de pratiques constituent des lignes directrices élaborées à l’échelle nationale et représentent les façons de faire recommandées en matière de soins aux animaux. Ces codes n’ont toutefois, en soi, pas force de loi.

Les provinces de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont rendu obligatoire l’adhésion aux codes de pratiques. En 2015, à l’occasion du dépôt du projet de loi 54, Loi visant l’amélioration de la situation juridique de l’animal, le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec de l’époque, Pierre Paradis, s’était engagé à ce que, au minimum, les codes de pratiques régissant l’élevage d’animaux pour la consommation deviennent obligatoires. Pourtant, l’adhésion à ces codes demeure, à ce jour, strictement volontaire.