fbpx

Finally, Horse-Drawn Carriages in Montreal Will Be a Thing of the Past!

Montreal_calecheMontreal, June 14 2018 – This afternoon, the City of Montreal announced the adoption of a by-law prohibiting the use of horse-drawn carriages on its territory. The by-law will come into effect on December 31st, 2019. The Montreal SPCA wishes to congratulate Mayor Valérie Plante and Projet Montreal for adopting this long-awaited measure. By putting an end to this antiquated and inhumane industry, Montreal will be following the lead of several other world-class cities, such as London, Paris, Beijing and Toronto.

Carriage horses are often forced to work nine or more hours per day, seven days a week, are subject to potential collisions with vehicles, loud noises that can spook them (and also endanger humans in their vicinity), extreme temperatures and years of walking on unnaturally hard surfaces, which often causes lameness.

“The Montreal SPCA has been fighting against the use of horses downtown for nearly 150 years” said attorney Alanna Devine, Director of Animal Advocacy at the Montreal SPCA. “The end of this industry represents an important victory for our organization and demonstrates just how much our relationship with animals is evolving.”

The phase-out period would allow the City of Montreal to work with horse owners, the Montreal SPCA, and horse rescues and sanctuaries to place all the horses in homes adapted to their needs, where they will be able to live out a peaceful retirement. “The Montreal SPCA already has a solid network of foster homes and horse rescues and would be more than willing to help with proper placement of the City’s carriage horses, as we have already done for some individuals in the past,” said Elise Desaulniers, Executive Director of the Montreal SPCA. “We hope to have the opportunity to work with the city and rescue groups to place these horses with loving and attentive caretakers.”

 

– 30 –

Media contact: Anita Kapuscinska, Communications Director, Montreal SPCA, 514-359-5198, or anitak@spca.com.

About the Montreal SPCA
Founded in Montreal in 1869, we were the first animal-welfare society in Canada and our mission is to:

  • protect animals from neglect, abuse and exploitation
  • represent their interests and ensure their well-being
  • raise public awareness and help develop compassion for all sentient beings

For more information about the Montreal SPCA, please visit our website at www.spca.com.

Keep in touch

Sign up for our newsletter to stay on top of our activities and get news about our furry and feathered residents.

Enfin, les calèches à Montréal seront chose du passé!

Montreal_calecheMontréal, 14 juin 2018 – Cet après-midi, la Ville de Montréal a annoncé un règlement interdisant l’utilisation de calèches sur son territoire. Le règlement prendra effet le 31 décembre 2019. La SPCA de Montréal souhaite féliciter la mairesse Valérie Plante et Projet Montréal d’avoir adopté cette mesure tant attendue. En mettant fin à cette industrie désuète et inhumaine, Montréal emboite le pas à plusieurs grandes métropoles comme Londres, Paris, Beijing et Toronto.

Les chevaux de calèche sont souvent obligés de travailler pendant neuf heures ou plus par jour, et ce, sept jours par semaine. Ils sont soumis à des risques de collisions avec les véhicules, aux bruits forts du trafic qui peuvent les effrayer (ce qui peut également mettre en danger les gens à proximité), à des températures extrêmes et à des années de marche sur des surfaces très dures, ce qui leur cause souvent des problèmes de boiterie.

« Cela fait près de 150 ans que la SPCA de Montréal se bat contre l’utilisation de chevaux dans le centre-ville », a déclaré Me Sophie Gaillard, avocate au département de défense des animaux de la SPCA de Montréal. « La fin de cette industrie marque une victoire importante pour notre organisme et démontre à quel point notre rapport aux animaux est en pleine évolution ».

Une période d’élimination graduelle pourrait permettre à la Ville de Montréal de travailler avec les propriétaires de chevaux, en collaboration avec la SPCA de Montréal et des refuges et sanctuaires pour chevaux, pour placer ceux-ci dans des environnements adaptés, où ils pourront profiter d’une retraite paisible. « La SPCA de Montréal dispose d’un large réseau de foyers d’accueil et de sanctuaires pour chevaux, et serait plus qu’enchantée d’aider au placement de ces chevaux de calèche, comme nous l’avons fait quelques fois dans le passé », a déclaré Élise Desaulniers, directrice générale à la SPCA de Montréal. « Nous espérons avoir l’opportunité de travailler avec la Ville et les groupes de secours afin de placer ces chevaux dans des foyers aimants et attentionnés. »

–30–

Personne-ressource pour les médias : Anita Kapuscinska, directrice des communications, SPCA de Montréal, 514 359-5198, ou anitak@spca.com.

À propos de la SPCA de Montréal
Fondée à Montréal en 1869, nous avons été la première organisation vouée au bien-être animal au Canada et notre mission est de :

  • protéger les animaux contre la négligence, les abus et l’exploitation;
  • représenter leurs intérêts et assurer leur bien-être;
  • favoriser la conscientisation du public et contribuer à éveiller la compassion pour tout être sensible.

Pour plus d’information au sujet de la SPCA de Montréal, veuillez visiter notre site web au www.spca.com.

Gardons le contact

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre pour rester à l’affût de nos activités et recevoir des nouvelles de nos pensionnaires.