fbpx

Donations to the Montreal SPCA Doubled until December 31!

Press release – for immediate release

Montréal, November 26, 2020 – The Montreal SPCA is launching its annual year-end campaign with a twist: each donation made by December 31, 2020, will be matched! This opportunity is made possible by the generosity the Bryant-Mapes Fund, created by two enthusiastic dog lovers, Floranna Bryant and Dorothy Mapes, who included the Montreal SPCA in their will. For a second consecutive year, the fund administrator will be matching donations received up until December 31, up to a maximum of $85,000!

“In the current context of the pandemic, the matching gift campaign is an extraordinary opportunity,” said Élise Desaulniers, Executive Director for the Montreal SPCA. “The year-end fundraiser will kick off the new year, helping us continue to provide urgent care to animals in need regardless of their circumstances.” Ms. Desaulniers does on to say that “despite the obstacles brought on by COVID-19, our community’s support has allowed us to adapt and care for a large number of animals throughout the challenges of the year. To help us work even more miracles for our little protégés, I encourage all those who can to make a donation, since its value will be doubled!”

Relying primarily on donations from the public, the Montreal SPCA takes in and cares for hundreds of animals each month. Whatever their circumstance—newborn, elderly, lost, neglected, mistreated, sick, injured or nearing the end of their lives—each and every animal receives the care and attention they need.

To reduce the number of abandonments, the Montreal SPCA will use the funds raised during this year-end campaign to develop its behavioural consultation service for guardians who cannot afford the services of an animal behaviourist. We also intend to save more orphaned kittens as part of our ever-expanding neonatal program, which will continue in 2021 for a third consecutive year.

“Thanks to the ongoing support of our donors, we offer our protégés every preparation for their new life,” said Ms. Desaulniers. “Our donors’ support also means we can pursue our awareness raising as leaders in animal protection. Working tirelessly to give animals a second chance, the Montreal SPCA leads efforts to make society more respectful of all sentient beings. Thank you to all of our supporters, without whom none of this would be possible!,” she said in closing.

Those who wish to donate to the matching gift campaign may do so online at spca.com or by calling 1-866-366-7722 by December 31, 2020.

-30-

Source: Montreal SPCA

Attached files:Newsletter 2020A Caring Team

Media contact: Anita Kapuscinska, Montreal SPCA, 514-359-5198 or anitak@spca.com

About the Bryant-Mapes Fund for the Care of Dogs – The Fund doubles year-end donations to the Montreal SPCA thanks to the generosity of Floranna Bryant and Dorothy Mapes, who included animals in their legacy. Not only does this kind of giving make a huge difference to improving animal welfare, it can be easily planned! To find out more, go to spca.com/en/will.

About the Montreal SPCA – Founded in 1869, the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (now known simply as the Montreal SPCA) was the first animal-welfare organization in Canada. Today, the Montreal SPCA is the largest animal protection organization in Quebec, speaking on behalf of animals wherever there is ignorance, cruelty, exploitation, or neglect.

Keep in touch

Sign up for our newsletter to stay on top of our activities and get news about our furry and feathered residents.

fbpx

Les dons faits à la SPCA de Montréal seront doublés jusqu’à la fin de l’année!

Communiqué de presse – Pour diffusion immédiate

Montréal, le 26 novembre 2020 – La SPCA de Montréal lance sa campagne annuelle de fin d’année avec une offre incontournable : chaque don fait d’ici au 31 décembre 2020 sera doublé! Cette activité est rendue possible grâce au Fonds Bryant-Mapes, créé par deux grandes amies des chiens, Floranna Bryant et Dorothy Mapes, qui ont inclus la SPCA de Montréal dans leur testament. Pour une deuxième année consécutive, l’administratrice du fonds jumellera chaque don reçu d’ici au 31 décembre, jusqu’à concurrence de 85 000 $!

« Dans le contexte actuel de la pandémie, cette campagne de dons doublés constitue une chance extraordinaire. Elle nous donne le plus bel élan qui soit pour amorcer la nouvelle année et continuer d’offrir, en toutes circonstances, des soins urgents aux animaux qui en ont besoin. Malgré les obstacles liés à la COVID-19, le soutien de notre communauté nous a permis de nous adapter et de soigner un grand nombre d’animaux tout au long de cette difficile année. Afin que nous puissions encore faire des miracles pour nos petits protégés, j’invite aujourd’hui les gens qui le peuvent à faire un don dont la valeur sera doublée! », dit Élise Desaulniers, directrice générale de l’organisation.

Rappelons que la SPCA de Montréal dépend principalement des dons du public pour accueillir et soigner chaque mois des centaines d’animaux. Qu’il s’agisse de nouveau-nés ou d’animaux plus âgés, d’animaux perdus, délaissés ou maltraités, qu’ils soient malades, blessés ou en fin de vie, chacun reçoit les soins et l’attention dont il a besoin.

Avec les fonds amassés grâce à cette campagne de fin d’année, et dans le but de réduire le nombre d’abandons, la SPCA de Montréal compte développer son service de consultation comportementale pour les gardiens d’animaux qui n’ont pas les moyens de faire appel aux services d’un comportementaliste. Elle souhaite également sauver davantage de chatons orphelins dans le cadre de son programme néonatal, qui se poursuivra en 2021 pour une troisième année et qui prend toujours plus d’ampleur.

« C’est grâce à l’appui fidèle de nos donateurs et donatrices que nous pouvons offrir à chaque animal qui se retrouve au refuge ce dont il a besoin pour se préparer à sa nouvelle vie, en plus de poursuivre notre travail de sensibilisation auprès du grand public et d’être de chef de file en matière de protection animale », souligne Élise Desaulniers. « À la SPCA de Montréal, nous travaillons sans relâche pour donner une seconde chance aux animaux qui nous sont confiés et bâtir une société plus respectueuse de tous les êtres sensibles. Merci à toutes ces personnes qui nous appuient et sans qui rien de cela ne serait possible! », conclut-elle.

Les personnes qui souhaitent faire un don dans le cadre de cette campagne de dons jumelés sont invitées à le faire en ligne à spca.com, ou par téléphone au 1 866 888-7722 d’ici au 31 décembre 2020.

-30-

Source : SPCA de Montréal 

Complément d’information : Bulletin 2020, Une équipe de cœur

Personne-ressource pour les médias : Anita Kapuscinska, SPCA de Montréal, 514 359-5198, ou anitak@spca.com.

À propos de la SPCA de Montréal – Fondée en 1869, la Société pour la prévention de la cruauté envers les animaux (mieux connue sous le nom de SPCA de Montréal) a été la première organisation vouée au bien-être animal au Canada. Elle est aujourd’hui le plus grand organisme de protection des animaux au Québec, s’exprimant en leur nom partout où règne l’ignorance, la cruauté, l’exploitation ou la négligence.

À propos du Fonds Bryant-Mapes – C’est le Fonds Bryant-Mapes pour le soin des chiens qui permet de doubler la valeur de vos dons dans le cadre de notre campagne de fin d’année. Merci à Floranna Bryant et à Dorothy Mapes qui ont pensé aux animaux en rédigeant leur testament. En plus d’avoir une belle portée, ce type de don est facile à planifier. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le spca.com/testament.

Gardons le contact

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre pour rester à l’affût de nos activités et recevoir des nouvelles de nos pensionnaires.